Polish TYA

A Glance around the Polish TYA

This new series is dedicated to Polish contemporary theatre for children where various influences come across. Traditions of puppet theatre are mixed with actors' theatre; folk tales, fairytales, animal fables are just as inspiring for Polish directors and playwrights as modern children's literature. The majority of the shows is made solely by artists, but more and more often they collaborate with theatre's pedagogues; not infrequently the show performed in front of the audience is a pretext to further workshops, discussions and other activities in which the audience participates. In the next posts we will present some drafts of the interesting and worth-to-be-mentioned performances, tendencies, publications and events, which took place in Poland recently. The authoress of the notes is a passionate of the modern TYA who works on a doctoral thesis dedicated to this topic.

Agata Drwiega - Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan, Faculty of Polish and Classical Philology, Department of Drama, Theatre and Performance

1 Poetic Street Performance

The majority of Polish theatres is municipal and don't stage performances during the summer. Then they keep in touch with the audience by organizing workshops or playing out-door shows. Based on Krystyna Milobedzka play and directed by Sebastian Swiader 'W kole' is a poetic performance inspired by children's games and the every-day reality of in the courtyards of Praga, one of Warsaw's districts. There is no stage but a circle drawn by children on the ground. In the circle five actors play games  evolving stories about people-to-people relationships. Children watch it carefully and understand clearly while adults need some explanations.

2 At the Campfire Or How to develop New Plays for Children and Young People

The beginning of September is a special time for contemporary Polish dramaturgy – at that time the new edition of 'Nowe Sztuki dla Dzieci i Młodzieży' ('New Plays for Children and Young People') is published and the yearly professional meeting in Obrzycko takes place. This event has a long tradition and this year’s gathering was extraordinary for a number of reasons. We celebrated the 30th anniversary of the Competition for a Play for Children and Young People, the 40th edition of 'Nowe Sztuki' and the 25th professional meeting. The main theme which was discussed this year was the presence of varied forms of funniness in contemporary plays.

3 What’s new? – A meeting about theatre for young adults in Gdańsk

Between the 14th and 17th October 2016 in the 'Miniatura' Theatre in Gdańsk a professional meeting 'What’s new?' ('Co nowego'?) took place. It was dedicated to contemporary theatre for young adults, which in Poland is mainly represented by a sort of 'in-yer-face theatre'. In addition to the presentations of the foreign and Polish performances, three round tables were organized. We discussed how German and Swiss artists deal with this topic and we confronted it with our Polish experiences.  In our opinion also in Poland theatres should give young adults more opportunities to attend performances by themselves.

4 With Fire in the Head - A meeting about German dramaturgy for young adults in Wałbrzych

From the 18th to 22nd of October 2016 the second meeting about German dramaturgy for young adults  'Z ogniem w głowie' took place in the Dramatyczny Theatre in Wałbrzych. Both the presentations of the German plays and the speeches of the Polish and German guests were new and innovative. What I found most inspiring is the idea of plays written for youth which catch also the interest of adults. In Poland there are many plays written for adults which are appropriate for youngsters too. But the first option leads TYA to more democratic events for instance for a mixed-aged-audience – in contrast to shows whose main topic is addressed to children but also contains numerous subtexts for adults only.

5 Marta Gusniowska – Polish Contemporary Playwrights

In Poland contemporary plays for children are well-known and often staged nowadays. As Polish TYA is closely related to puppet theatre many of the pieces are dedicated to perform with puppets. The most favored playwright is Marta Gusniowska, who writes original pieces as well as fairy tales’ adaptations. She deconstructs the schemes and characters of the fairy tales and her pieces are full of both linguistic humour and situational comedy. Language’s deconstruction is another feature of her playwriting. Although there are many linguistic games in Marta’s plays, some of them were translated into English, German and a couple of Slavic languages. The plays of Marta Gusniowska, which are also open for productions with actors, can be obtained by the agency Stowarzyszenie Autorów ZaiKS.

amateurfetishist.com

Polish TYA

Polnisches Kinder- und Jugendtheater heute

być piątym / fünfter sein © Studio Theatralne Blum / Theaterwerkstatt Hannover

Die neue Reihe A Glance around the Polish TYA  ist dem zeitgenössischen Theater für Kinder und Jugendliche mit seinen verschiedenartigen Einflüssen gewidmet. Das traditionelle Puppentheater trifft auf das Schauspiel/er-Theater; Volkssagen, Märchen und Fabeln inspirieren die polnischen Regisseure und Autoren ebenso wie die moderne Kinder- und Jugendliteratur. Die Mehrzahl der Produktionen liegt allein in der Hand der Künstler; aber mehr und mehr arbeiten sie mit Theaterpädagogen zusammen. Nicht selten folgen der Aufführung Werkstätten, Diskussionen oder andere Aktivitäten, an denen das Publikum mitwirkt. In den englischsprachigen Beiträgen werden interessante  und aktuelle Inszenierungen, Tendenzen, Veröffentlichungen und Veranstaltungen aus Polen vorgestellt. Die Autorin der Beiträge hat sich dem Kinder- und Jugendtheater verschrieben und arbeitet gegenwärtig an ihrer Dissertation.

Agata Drwięga – Adam-Mickiewicz-Universität in Poznań, Fakultät für polnische und klassische Philologie, Abteilung für Drama, Theater und Performance

1 Poetisches Straßentheater

Die Mehrheit der polnischen Theater ist kommunal verwaltet. Die Theater bieten ihrem Publikum im Sommer keine Aufführungen, sondern Werkstätten und Veranstaltungen unter freiem Himmel an. 'Wkole' von Krystyna Miłobędzka und in der Regie von Sebastian Świąder ist eine poetische Performance, geprägt von Kinderspielen und dem Alltag in den Höfen des Warschauer Distrikts Praga. Es gibt keine Bühne, sondern nur einen von Kindern gezogenen Kreis auf der Erde. Darin spielen fünf AkteurInnen Spiele und es entstehen Geschichten über zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen. Die Kinder sind dabei ein aufmerksames Publikum, das mehr versteht als mancher Erwachsener.

Nowe Sztuki 40 © Poznań: Centrum Sztuki Dziecka 2016

2 Am Lagerfeuer Oder Wie Stücke für das Kinder- und Jugendtheater entstehen

Der Anfang September ist eine besondere Zeit für das polnische Kinder- und Jugendtheater, weil dann die nächste Ausgabe von 'Neue Stücke für Kinder und Jugendliche' ('Nowe Sztuki dla Dzieci i Młodzieży') erscheint und das jährliche Treffen in Orzycko stattfindet. Diese Veranstaltung hat eine lange Tradition und war in diesem Jahr aus verschiedenen Gründen etwas ganz Besonderes. Es wurde das 30. Jubiläum des Wettbewerbs für ein Kinder- und Jugendtheaterstück, die 40. Ausgabe der 'Neuen Stücke' und das 25. Fachtreffen gefeiert. Ein Thema, das diesmal häufig diskutiert wurde, war die Vielseitigkeit von Witz und Humor in zeitgenössischen Stücken.

junges theater basel: Flex © Piotr Będziszewski

3 Was gibt's Neues? – Ein Diskurs über Jugendtheater im 'Miniatura' Theater in Danzig

Vom 14. bis zum 17. Oktober 2016 fand die Fachveranstaltung 'Was gibt's Neues?' (Co nowego?) im 'Miniatura' Theater in Danzig statt. Sie war dem zeitgenössischen Jugendtheater gewidmet, das in Polen vor allem durch eine Art 'in-yer-face theatre' bestimmt ist. In Ergänzung der ausländischen und polnischen Aufführungen gab es drei Podiumsdiskussionen. Wir haben diskutiert, wie deutsche und Schweizer Künstler mit diesem Thema umgehen und dies mit unseren polnischen Erfahrungen verglichen. Unserer Meinung nach sollten Jugendlichen auch in Polen mehr Möglichkeiten haben, Aufführungen ohne die Begleitung Erwachsener zu besuchen.

Z ogniem w głowie 2016 Cover

4 Mit feurigem Kopf – Ein Diskurs über deutsche Dramaturgie im Jugendtheater in Wałbrzych

Vom 18. bis zum 22. Oktober 2016 hat das zweite Treffen zur Dramaturgie im Jugendtheater 'Z ogniem w głowie' im Dramatyczny Theatre in Wałbrzych stattgefunden. Sowohl die Lesungen deutscher Stücke als auch die Positionen der polnischen und deutschen Gäste waren neu und innovativ. Besonders anregend war für mich der Gedanke, dass Jugendtheater ebenfalls ein erwachsenes Publikum ansprechen kann. In Polen gibt es zwar viele Stücke für Erwachsene, die auch für Jugendliche geeignet sind. Aber das erstgenannte Konzept führt zu einem demokratischeren Kinder- und Jugendtheater. Beispielsweise entstehen sie Inszenierungen für ein gemischtes Publikum, die einerseits insgesamt an die Kinder adressiert sind, aber andererseits viele Anspielungen enthalten, die nur Erwachsene verstehen.

Marta Gusniowska © privat

5 Marta Gusniowska – Polnische zeitgenössische Autor*innen

Heutzutage sind in Polen zeitgenössische Stücke für Kinder sehr bekannt und werden häufig aufgeführt. Weil das polnische Kinder- und Jugendtheater eng mit dem Puppentheater verbunden ist, werden viele Stücke auch mit Puppen aufgeführt. Marta Gusniowska, die am meisten beachtete Autorin, schreibt ebenso Märchenadaptionen wie eigene Stücke. Sie erneuert die Strukturen und Charaktere der Märchen und ihre Stücke leben von Sprachwitz und Situationskomik. Die Reflexion von mit der Sprache transportierten Bedeutungen ist ein weiteres Charakteristikuim ihrer Schreibweise. Trotz der vielen Sprachspielereien sind einige der Stücke ins Englische, Deutsche und in eine Reihe slavischer Sprachen übersetzt worden. Die Stücke von Marta Gusniowska, die ebenso mit Schauspielern realisiert werden können, werden von der Agentur Stowarzyszenie Autorów ZaiKS vertreten.

amateurfetishist.com