German Children's Theatre Prize and German Young People's Theatre Prize

The German Children’s Theatre Prize and the German Young People’s Theatre Prize were awarded for the first time by the Federal Ministry for the Family, Senior Citizens, Women and Young People (BMFSFJ) at the 8th Frankfurt Authors Forum for Children’s and Young People’s Theatre in December 1996. Since then authors and their outstanding plays for children and young people have been receiving state prizes for young people’s dramatic literature every two years. The prizes are intended to promote the development of dramatic literature for children and young people and set standards for literary and dramaturgical quality in plays for contemporary theatre for children and young people.

The overall concept for the awards has continually changed in order to match the practical demands. In the first three years the award winners had been already announced prior to the prize-giving ceremony: since 2004 they have been selected from three nominations in each section and only announced during the prize-winning ceremony. This has made the official event more exciting, and the nominations have given us the opportunity to pay tribute to a greater number of authors and their high-quality and prize-winning plays.

In the first few years, in addition to the authors’ awards, up to 6 theatres were awarded extra money to present the premieres of the prize-winning plays. Since 2004 these extra grants were made available for an educational concept or a concept for developing a play to its premiere. Between 2008 and 2012 the awards were then transformed into three grants related to the German Children’s Theatre Prize, in order to promote the writing of good new plays for children’s theatre. With regard to the next award ceremony in 2016 the BMFSFJ is now for the first time promoting a playwriting competition for students of scenic writing. This is to encourage the students to become more closely acquainted with the opportunities and possibilities of writing for young audiences during their college training; and to make them more aware of the special challenges and demands made on authors for children and young people’s theatre.

The current chronicle of the German Children’s Theatre Prize and the German Young People’s Theatre Prize provides an opportunity to retrace the developments of the awards and, above all, the lines of development for dramatic plays written for children and young people since 1996. Therefore one can fetch information over the past and current entry conditions, read brief appreciations of every award year, and receive an overview on all the prize-winners and nominations to date. (gt)

amateurfetishist.com

Deutscher Kindertheaterpreis und Deutscher Jugendtheaterpreis

Während des 8. Frankfurter Autorenforums für Kinder- und Jugendtheater im Dezember 1996 wurden der Deutsche Kindertheaterpreis und der Deutschen Jugendtheaterpreis zum ersten Mal vom Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend (BMFSFJ) verliehen. Seitdem sind mit den beiden Staatspreisen für dramatische Kinder- und Jugendliteratur alle zwei Jahre herausragende Stücke für Kinder und Jugendliche und ihre Autorinnen und Autoren ausgezeichnet worden. Mit der Vergabe der Preise werden die Entwicklung der dramatischen Literatur für Kinder und Jugendliche gefördert und Standards für die literarische und dramaturgische Qualität von Stücken des zeitgenössischen Kinder- und Jugendtheaters gesetzt.

Die Konzeption für die Vergabe der Preise hat sich kontinuierlich verändert und ist den Erfordernissen in der Praxis angepasst worden. Nachdem die Preisträger in den ersten Jahrgängen bereits vor der Preisverleihung bekannt waren, werden sie seit dem Jahrgang 2004 aus den drei Nominierten für jede Sparte ausgewählt und erst während der Verleihung bekannt gegeben. Das hat die festliche Veranstaltung spannender gemacht und Gelegenheit gegeben, mit der Nominierung mehr qualitätvolle und preisträchtige Stücke und ihre Autorinnen und Autoren zu würdigen.

Zusätzlich zu der Auszeichnung der Preisträger sind in den ersten Jahrgängen außerdem bis zu sechs Theater mit einer Aufführungsprämie für die Preisträger-Stücke ausgezeichnet worden. Ab 2004 sind diese Prämien dann als Prämien zu einer Aufführung für ein theaterpädagogisches oder ein Konzept zur Stückentwicklung ausgeschrieben worden. Von 2008 bis 2012 sind die Prämien in drei Stipendien zum Deutschen Kindertheaterpreis umgewandelt worden, mit denen die Entstehung neuer und guter Stücke für das Kindertheater gefördert worden ist. Begleitend zur aktuellen Ausschreibung hat das BMFSFJ erstmals einen Stückwettbewerb für Studierende des Szenischen Schreibens ausgeschrieben. Damit sollen Studierende des Szenischen Schreibens ermuntert werden, sich schon während ihrer Hochschulausbildung mit den Chancen und Möglichkeiten des Schreibens für junges Publikum aber auch mit den besonderen Heraus- und Anforderungen an Autorinnen und Autoren des Kinder- und Jugendtheaters vertraut zu machen.

Anhand der vorliegenden Chronik zum Deutschen Kindertheaterpreis und zum Deutschen Jugendtheaterpreis lassen sich diese Entwicklungen der Preise und vor allem die Entwicklungslinien der Dramatik für Kinder und für Jugendliche seit 1996 nachvollziehen. Man kann sich über die bisherigen und die aktuellen Ausschreibungsbedingungen informieren, kann kurze Einschätzungen zu den einzelnen Jahrgängen nachlesen und man erhält einen Überblick über alle bisherigen Preisträger und Nominierten. (gt)

amateurfetishist.com