African TYA

Interesting insights from the Collection of the Centre

During the last months Africa was overall the news in Germany – most as a hotspot for trouble. If not a political coup in one or the other of the over fifty countries caught the attention of the public, then the fear of the recently arrived or just expected refugees or the general discontent with the growing african population. A seldom guest in the public opinion was the awareness of the cultural richness of the cradle of mankind.
Now we are inviting you to have a look at our main project entitled "Focus on Africa" . ASSITEJ has been existing since 1965 but it is only towards the end of the 20th century that the African members have been progressively joining the organization. Today, there are 13 countries from Africa that are members of the ASSITEJ. Through this project you will be able to admire the ultra-diversity and plurality of the African cultures and theater-styles through images, documents and videos collected from about 30 theatres located in those African member countries as well as from other non-members African countries.

Being more precised, we have 21 countries represented in our collection out of 54 African countries in total. Amongst these we have 10 member countries of which 7 are represented in the web and 11 non-member countries of which 6 are equally represented in the web.

The african members of ASSITEJ Benin, Cameroun, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe are represented on the web, Angola, Rwanda and Senegal  in the collection; Mali, Swaziland and Togo are not yet represented in the collection. From other african countries we choose documents from Congo (DRC), Egypt, Mauritius, Namibia, Tunisia, Uganda for the website; more documents from Botswana, Madagaskar, Mozambique, Tanzania, Zaire can be found in the archive.

The project has been conducted by Miss Manuela Ngoi Rymis and Mr Nyasha Mujuru from Cameroon and Zimbabwe respectively, exchange students at Frankfurt under the coordination and supervision of Dr. Jürgen Kirschner, scientific documentalist at KJTZ Frankfurt Am Main.

Frankfurt Am Main, December 2017

INSPIRING PERFORMANCES

One of the stills taken from a choice of eleven out of more than thirty videos collected in preparation of the ASSITEJ World Congress 2017 in Cape Town / South Africa

What goes up?
F:THK, Cape Town, South Africa, 71 minutes
http://www.fthk.co.za/ 

amateurfetishist.com

Kinder- und Jugendtheater in Afrika

Ausgewähltes und Anregendes aus der Sammlung

Zimbabwe High Energy Dance Company © Pangolin Productions

Während der letzten Monate war Afrika ständig in den deutschen Nachrichten – meist als Krisengebiet. Entweder wurde über einen Putsch in diesem oder jenem der über fünfzig Länder berichtet. Oder es wurde über die Angst vor den bisher angekommenen oder noch erwarteten Flüchtlingen diskutiert. Oder es wurde das allgemeine Unbehagen über das Wachstum der afrikanischen Bevölkerung artikuliert. Selten ist über den kulturellen Reichtum der Wiege der Menschheit öffentlich gesprochen worden.
Jetzt laden wir Sie zu einem Blick auf unser Projekt 'Focus on Africa' ein. Die Organisation ASSITEJ existiert seit 1965, aber erst seit dem Ende des 20. Jahrhunderts sind mehr und mehr afrikanische Länder der Organisation beigetreten. Heute sind 13 Länder Mitglied der Weltorganisation. Unser Projekt entfaltet die große Vielfalt und Pluralität der afrikanischen Kulturen und Theaterformen durch Bilder, Dokumente und Videos von über dreißig Theatern aus Ländern mit und ohne ASSITEJ-Mitgliedschaft.

Manuela Ngoi Rymis and Nyasha Mujuru © private

Wir haben, um genau zu sein, 21 von insgesamt 54 afrikanischen Ländern in unserer Sammlung. Darunter sind zehn ASSITEJ-Mitglieder, davon sieben im Web präsentiert, und elf Länder ohne ASSITEJ-Mitgliedschaft, davon sind sechs im Web dokumentiert. 

Dokumente der ASSITEJ-Mitglieder Benin, Kamerun, Kenia, Nigeria, Südafrika, Sambia, Simbabwe erscheinen im Web, Dokumente von Angola, Rwanda und Senegal sind in der Sammlung zu finden; Mali, Swasiland and Togo sind noch nicht in der Sammlung enthalten. Dazu zeigen wir Dokumente aus der DR Kongo, Ägypten, Mauritius, Namibia, Tunesien und Uganda im Web; weitere Dokumente aus Botswana, Madagaskar, Mosambik,Tansania und Zaire sind Teil des Archivs.

Das Projekt wurde von Manuela Ngoi Rymis and Nyasha Mujuru aus Kamerun bzw. Simbabwe, Austauschstudenten aus Frankfurt, unter der An/Leitung von Dr. Jürgen Kirschner, dem wissenschaftlichen Dokumentar des KJTZ in Frankfurt am Main, durchgeführt.

Frankfurt am Main, im Dezember 2017

INSPIRIERENDE INSZENIERUNGEN

Eines der Video-Stills von elf Videos, die aus mehr als dreißig Produktionen ausgewählt worden sind; das Material war für die Auswahl der Gastspiele zum ASSITEJ Weltkongress 2017 in Kapstadt / Südafrika eingesandt worden.

What goes up? © F:THK, Cape Town, South Africa

What goes up?
F:THK, Cape Town, South Africa, 71 minutes
http://www.fthk.co.za/ 

amateurfetishist.com